Dearborn County Primary Election Results

Local Primary Election Results

Last Updated: May 3, 2011 7:25:42 pm


Democrat nominee for Lawrenceburg Mayor

Dennis Carr (near right) smiles as supporters

are overjoyed with the primary election

results announced Tuesday at the Dearborn

County Administration Building.

Mike Perleberg-Eagle 99.3 

(Lawrenceburg, Ind.) – And then there were two.

Just two candidates left to face off for mayor in Aurora and Lawrenceburg as May 3 primary election results were announced at the Dearborn County Administration Building Tuesday evening.

In a busy Democrat primary for Lawrenceburg Mayor, Dennis Carr earned nearly half of the vote over opponents Tim Denning and J.R. Holdcraft who garned 22 and 28.3 percent, respectively.

“We get to do it all over again until November,” said Carr, as his wife cried overcome with joy following the announcement of the election results. 

 Carr will run a campaign over the next several months against Lawrenceburg Community Schools board member Kelly Mollaun, the Republican nominee who went unopposed in the primary.

In an equally as contested Lawrenceburg City Council At-Large Democrat primary, Lawrenceburg Police Capt. Doug Taylor won with 46.5 percent of the vote. Incumbent councilman Mario Todd was second with 29 percent and Paul Seymour, Jr. had 24.5. There is currently no Republican to face Taylor in the November general election.

Jane Pope took the District 1 Democrat race with 54 percent of the vote, beating out Connie Knue and Cornelius Lacey. Tony Abbott, who was unopposed on the GOP ticket, will be Pope’s November competition.



Primary election candidates and their family

members look on as results were announced

at the Dearborn County Administration Building

Tuesday evening.

Mike Perleberg-Eagle 99.3 

District 3’s Democrat nod went to Bill Bill Brunner as he defeated three other opponents with an astounding 67.6 percent of the vote. There was no Republican candidate in the primary.

Business owner Mike Lawrence won the Democrat District 4 nomination with 57.1 percent. He will face Republican Linda Mumphrey-Harper, who was unopposed.

Aurora voters had three races to decide. Republicans gave incumbent Mayor Donnie Hastings, Jr. resounding support with 72.2 percent of the vote over challenger Aaron Ellis’ 27.8 percent. Now seeking his third term as mayor in November, Hastings will run against Democrat Rick Orcutt, who was unopposed Tuesday.

Also on the GOP ballot in Aurora, Kevin Gerke defeated Fred Lester 71.4 to 28.6 percent for the District 4 nomination.

Gerke will run in November against Democrat David Schwegmann, who earned a win against Melvin “Lil Mutt” Kremer 55.3 to 44.7 percent.

Full Election Day results are below. Only contested races are shown with winners in italics



Council District 4

David Schwegmann – 47 – 55.3

Melvin “Lil Mutt” Kremer – 38 – 44.7



Donnie Hastings, Jr. – 156 – 72.2

Aaron Ellis – 60 – 27.8

Council District 4

Kevin Gerke – 145 – 71.4

Frederick Lester – 58 – 28.6




Dennis Carr – 341 – 49.6

Tim Denning – 151 – 22

J.R. Holdcraft – 195 – 28.4

Council At-Large

Doug Taylor – 322 – 46.5

Paul Seymour, Jr. – 170 – 24.5

Mario Todd – 201 – 29.0

Council District 1

Jane Pope – 108 – 54.3

Connie Knue – 70 – 35.2

Cornelius “Cobb” Lacey – 21 – 10.5

Council District 3

Bill Bill Brunner – 98 – 67.6

Thomas Rogers – 23 – 15.9

Danny “Bugsy” Courter – 14 – 9.7

Greg Beckett – 10 – 6.9

Council District 4

Mike Lawrence – 152 – 57.1

Bobby Mills – 62 – 23.3

George Morgan II – 52 – 19.6


Leave a Reply